Eighty-Five Artists Awarded MacDowell Colony Fellowships

PETERBOROUGH, NEW HAMPSHIRE—The MacDowell Colony in Peterborough, New Hampshire, has awarded fellowships to eighty-five artists working in seven disciplines. The fellowships are for upcoming late-winter and spring residencies. Writers Rebecca Skloot, Elif Batuman, and Azmat Khan; poet Mary Ruefle; composer Evan Chambers, filmmaker Stacey Steers; and artists Starlee Kine, Basil Twist, and Carl Wilson are among the recipients. Each fellow will be awarded $10,000 and will be provided with a private studio.

“Once again, an amazing array of gifted artists have applied for MacDowell fellowships. These artists range in age from twenty to ninety-two, perhaps the widest range we’ve ever had,” executive director Cheryl A. Young said. “This generational span is a testament to our continued effort to help artists of all ages and at all stages of their careers. This mix also makes for a richer experience for those in residence.”

Also among this group are artists displaced by the recent natural disasters in Florida, Texas, and Mexico. MacDowell fellows who live in the affected areas were eligible to apply for emergency time if their studios, homes, or livelihood were impacted. The MacDowell Colony awards more than three hundred fellowships each year.

The 2018 fellows are as follows:

Kris Allen 
Eugene Birman 
Antonio Blanco 
Evan Chambers 
Anthony De Ritis 
Tonia Ko 
Andrew May 
Javier Moreno Sanchez 
Koji Nakano 
Octavio Vazquez 
Pete Wyer

Film/Video Artists
Sharlene Bamboat 
Alexandra Cuesta 
Janie Geiser 
Salomé Lamas 
Alexis Mitchell 
Stacey Steers 
Haruko Tanaka

Interdisciplinary Artists
Nichole Canuso 
Robin Deacon 
Starlee Kine 
Kate Levy 
Tara Mateik 
Erik Ruin 
Carlos Sirah 
Morgan Thorson 
Basil Twist

Theater Artists
Fiona Doyle 
Georgina Escobar 
Jessica Huang 
Daniel Lazour 
Patrick Lazour 
Casey Llewellyn 
Mona Mansour 
Kate Tarker

Visual Artist
Elizabeth Bonaventura 
Becky Brown 
Victoria Burge 
Erik den Breejen 
Rose Dickson 
Daniel Duford 
Rashawn Griffin 
Elana Herzog 
Dawn Kim 
Shari Mendelson 
Marc Ohrem-Leclef 
Erin Riley 
Sarah Welch 
Carl Wilson 
Fo Wilson 
Letha Wilson

Nonfiction Writers
Louise Aronson 
Amy Gall 
Lewis Hyde 
Azmat Khan 
Carrie Laben 
Daniel Levin Becker 
Greg Marshall 
Rebecca Skloot 
Joe Watson 
Julia Wertz 
Laura Esther Wolfson

Fiction Writers
Elif Batuman 
Carolyn Byrne 
Amity Gaige 
Daniel Hernandez 
David Keane 
Kelly Luce 
Claire Luchette 
Lee Pinkas 
Eric Puchner 
Misha Rai 
Marianne Shaneen 
Sarah Smith 
Amy Waldman 
Xuan Wang 
Joyce Zonana

Marianne Boruch 
Ama Codjoe 
Mary Crow 
Amanda Galvan Huynh 
Eva Heisler 
Luljeta Lleshanaku 
Mary Ruefle 
Rachel Zucker


January 19, 2018