Performing Arts Research and Training Studios (PARTS)

The Performing Arts Research and Training Studios (PARTS) is an international school for contemporary dance and choreography based in Brussels, Belgium. PARTS is an artistic project, inspired by the multifaceted artistic practice of its founder and director Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker and other choreographers. PARTS provides a thorough education for dancers and choreographers, to become independent and creative artists.

PARTS is a full-time curriculum with two independent programmes: Training (three years) and Studios (two years).

Training is a professional education for dancers and choreographers, offering the theoretical and practical fundamentals of contemporary dance and the typical PARTS-approach, which consists of a focus on physical conscience, the development of creative and compositional skills, a training in drama and music and theoretical reflection. A cycle re-starts only every three years, the next time in 2019.
Studios targets choreographers and dance-makers who want to develop their creative voice and practice, in a learning environment that is communal and collaborative. The programme consists of self-directed research, movement research workshops, choreography masterclasses, theoretical seminars, dance classes and projects fostering cross-cultural thinking and creation. The programme finishes with a written thesis and end-of-studies creations with public presentations. The Studios cycle starts every three years, for the first time in 2019.



Full time.

Training (dance and choreography): 3 years (starts only every third year, in 2019, 2022, …)
Studios (choreography): 2 years (starts only every 3rd year, in 2019, 2022, …)


Contemporary dance and choreography

current faculty

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
Salva Sanchis
Marie Goudot
Michael Pomero
Tom Pauwels
Bojana Cvejić
Kuno Bakker
Christine De Smedt
Femke Gyselinck

notable alumni

Pieter Ampe, Heine Avdal, Fabian Barba, Eleanor Bauer, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Claire Croizé, Ludvig Daae, Etienne Guilloteau, Tarek Halaby, Saskia Hölbling, Mette Ingvartsen, George Khumalo (+), Les SLovaKs, Daniel Linehan, Gregory Maqoma, Oumaima Manai, Dada Masilo, Radouan Mriziga, Erna Omarsdottir, Thomas Plischke, Arco Renz, Salva Sanchis, Noé Soulier,Michiel Vandevelde, Alexander Vantournhout, Charlotte Van den Eynde, Benjamin Vandewalle, Andros Zins-Browne.

visiting artists

Martin Nachbar, Shannon Cooney, Kathleen Fischer, Laura Aris, Libby Farr, Janet Panetta, Ana Vujanovic, Rudi Laermans, Petra Van Brabandt, Theo Clinkard, Ivana Müller, Volmir Cordeiro, David Hernandez, David Zambrano