Emily Carr University of Art + Design

Emily Carr University of Art + Design is a learning community devoted to excellence and innovation in visual arts, media arts, and design. Our vision is to be a worldwide center of excellence in art, design, and media education and research. Founded in 1925, we are one of the oldest post-secondary institutions in British Columbia and the only one dedicated solely to professional education and learning in the arts, media, and design.

Teaching and applied research happens across thirteen majors and five degrees, within four faculties: the Faculty of Culture + Community, the Ian Gillespie Faculty of Design + Dynamic Media, the Audain Faculty of Art, and the Jake Kerr Faculty of Graduate Studies. The university serves over 2,000 undergraduate and graduate students, and more than 1,900 noncredit students. We provide a close-knit community that offers students a personal level of service in a creative environment.



Undergraduate programs: Four years, full-time.
MFA low-res: Seven semesters, 28 months, part-time.
MFA + MDes: Two years, full-time.


Critical + Cultural Practice
Visual Art (Ceramics, Drawing, Painting, Print Media, Sculpture and Expanded Practices)
Communication Design
Industrial Design
Interaction Design
2D + Experimental Animation
3D Computer Animation
Film + Screen Arts
New Media + Sound Arts

current faculty

Louise St Pierre, Keith Doyle, Maria Lantin, Garnet Hertz, Richard Hill, Amber Frid-Jimenez, Haig Armen, Cameron Cartiere, Justin Langlois, Elizabeth McIntosh, Emily Hermant, Randy Lee Cutler, Merritt Johnson, Amory Abbott, Ingrid Koening, Kate Armstrong, Ron Burnett

notable alumni

Kate Ali, Unity Bainbridge, Arnold Belkin, Alexandra Bischoff, Phillip Borsos, Molly Lamb Bobak, Emily Kai Bock, Annie Briard, Karin Bubaš, Arabella Campbell, Neko Case, Douglas Coupland,, Murray Devlin, Stan Douglas, Geoffrey Farmer, Ann Marie Fleming, Angela Grossmann, Colleen Heslin, E. J. Hughes, Carole Itter, Donald Jarvis, Lynn Johnston, Brian Jungen, Ann Kipling, Terence Koh, Brian Kokoska, Attila Richard Lukacs, Julian Lawrence, Jeannie Mah, Jack Shadbolt, Annie Liu, Edith L. Sharp, Heather Spears, Jeff Chiba Stearns, Ronald Thom, Renée Van Halm, Tsema Igharas

visiting artists

Samuel Roy-Bois, Rachelle Sawatsky, Etienne Zack, Allison Hrabluik, Helen Reed and Hannah Jickling, Lyse Lemieux, Al Williams, Germaine Koh, Jin-me Yoon, Michael Drebert, Carol Sawyer, Gareth James, Stephen Waddell, Jeneen Frei Njootli, Althea Thauberger, Antonia Hirsch