search
Spring 2020 events and exhibitions
School of Visual Arts (SVA)
Above: Ruojun Bai, excerpt from La Clepta, 2019. From Chuck's Bucket, SVA Gramercy Gallery. Courtesy of the artist.
Above: Ruojun Bai, excerpt from La Clepta, 2019. From Chuck's Bucket, SVA Gramercy Gallery. Courtesy of the artist.
School of Visual Arts (SVA)
209 East 23rd Street
New York, NY 10010
United States

sva.edu
Twitter / Facebook / Instagram

This spring at the School of Visual Arts, hear from leading artists, educators and writers and see work by the next generation of creative talents. Events are free unless noted. For more information, visit sva.edu, and subscribe to SVA's newsletter and calendar.

Susan Rosenberg Jones
Presented by MPS Digital Photography
Tuesday, January 14, 7pm
136 W. 21st St., Rm. 418F

The Visible Surface
Presented by BFA Visual & Critical Studies
Through Saturday, February 1
Reception: Thursday, January 16, 6–8pm
SVA Flatiron Gallery, 133/141 W. 21st St.

Printmaking workshop
Presented by SVA Continuing Education
Thursday, January 16, 6:30–8:30pm
133/141 W. 21st St., 5th fl.
RSVP here

Believing You
Presented by MFA Fine Arts
Through Saturday, February 1
Reception: Friday, January 17, 6–8pm
SVA Chelsea Gallery, 601 W. 26th St., 15th fl.

Chuck's Bucket
Presented by MFA Illustration as Visual Essay
Saturday, January 18–Saturday, February 8
Reception: Tuesday, January 21, 6–8pm
SVA Gramercy Gallery, 209 E. 23rd St.

Katie Yamasaki, Muralist
Presented by MFA Illustration as Visual Essay
Saturday, January 18–Saturday, February 8
Reception: Tuesday, January 21, 6–8pm
SVA Gramercy Gallery, 209 E. 23rd St.

Legacies of LIGHT: A Center for Creative Photography Livestream Event
Presented by MFA Photography, Video and Related Media
Saturday, January 18, noon–5pm
214 E. 21st St., ground fl.

Barbara Pollack
Presented by MFA Fine Arts
Tuesday, January 21, 6:30pm
133/141 W. 21st St., Rm. 101C

Political Anticipation and Dead Time
Presented by MA Curatorial Practice
Thursday, January 23, 7pm
132 W. 21st St., 10th fl.

Younger Polish Artists Beyond the Neoliberal Normal
Presented by SVA Honors Program and BFA Visual & Critical Studies
Monday, January 27, 7pm
133/141 W. 21st St., Rm. 101C

Elyla (Fredman Barahona)
Presented by MFA Fine Arts
Tuesday, January 28, 6:15pm
SVA Chelsea Gallery, 601 W. 26th St., 15th fl.

Danielle Jackson
Presented by MPS Digital Photography
Tuesday, January 28, 7pm
136 W. 21st St., Rm. 418F

Katie Yamasaki
Presented by MFA Illustration as Visual Essay
Tuesday, January 28, 7pm
209 E. 23rd St., 3rd-fl. amphitheater

David Heredia, Freelance Entrepreneur
Presented by SVA Alumni Affairs and Development and BFA Animation
Thursday, January 30, 6:30pm
SVA Theatre, 333 W. 23rd St.
RSVP here

Empowerment and Success for the Art Therapist
Presented by MPS Art Therapy
Friday, January 31, 6:30pm
133/141 W. 21st St., Rm. 101C

Jason Stopa
Presented by MFA Fine Arts
Tuesday, February 4, 6:30pm
133/141 W. 21st St., Rm. 101C

Beth B and Lydia Lunch
Presented by BFA Fine Arts
Tuesday, February 4, 7pm
209 E. 23rd St., 3rd-fl. amphitheater

BFA Fine Arts exhibition
Saturday, February 8–Saturday, February 22
Reception: Tuesday, February 11, 6–8pm
SVA Chelsea Gallery, 601 W. 26th St., 15th fl.

Open Door
Presented by MPS Art Therapy
Saturday, February 8–Saturday, February 29
Reception: Thursday, February 13, 6–8pm
SVA Flatiron Gallery, 133/141 W. 21st St.

Frances Jakubek
Presented by MPS Digital Photography
Tuesday, February 11, 7pm
136 W. 21st. St., Rm. 418F

Here We Are
Saturday, February 15–Saturday, March 14
Reception: Tuesday, February 18, 6–8pm
SVA Gramercy Gallery, 209 E. 23rd St.

The States of Instituting: iLiana Fokianaki from State of Concept in Athens
Presented by MA Curatorial Practice
Thursday, February 20, 7–9pm
132 W. 21st St., 10th fl.

Barry Wetcher
Presented by MPS Digital Photography
Tuesday, February 25, 7pm
136 W. 21st. St., Rm. 418F

Juried exhibition
Saturday, March 7–Saturday, April 4
Reception: Tuesday, March 10, 6–8pm
SVA Flatiron Gallery, 133/141 W. 21st St.

Mentors
Presented by BFA Photography and Video
Monday, March 9–Wednesday, March 25
Reception: Thursday, March 12, 6–8pm
SVA Chelsea Gallery, 601 W. 26th St., 15th fl.

Griselda San Martín
Presented by MPS Digital Photography
Tuesday, March 10, 7pm
136 W. 21st. St., Rm. 418F

Gary Hershorn
Presented by MPS Digital Photography
Thursday, March 12, 7pm
136 W. 21st. St., Rm. 418F

Real Is What You Feel: The Documentary in Contemporary Art
Presented by MA Curatorial Practice
Thursday, March 12, 7pm
132 W. 21st St., 10th fl.

Michael Bailey Gates
Presented by MPS Digital Photography
Tuesday, March 24, 7pm
136 W. 21st. St., Rm. 418F

Blank Forms
Presented by MA Curatorial Practice
Thursday, March 26, 7pm
132 W. 21st St., 10th fl.

BFA Cartooning and BFA Illustration exhibition
Friday, April 3–Saturday, April 18
Reception: TBA
SVA Chelsea Gallery, 601 W. 26th St., 15th fl.

Tommy Kha
Presented by MPS Digital Photography
Tuesday, April 7, 7pm
136 W. 21st. St., Rm. 418F

Bruce Polin
Presented by MPS Digital Photography
Tuesday, April 21, 7pm
136 W. 21st. St., Rm. 418F

Juried exhibition
Saturday, April 25–Saturday, May 16
Reception: Tuesday, April 28, 6–8pm
SVA Chelsea Gallery, 601 W. 26th St., 15th fl.

Juried exhibition
Thursday, May 14–Saturday, June 6
Reception: Wednesday, May 13, 6–8pm
SVA Flatiron Gallery, 133/141 W. 21st St.

January 13, 2020

location

School of Visual Arts (SVA) , New York