Related
Announcement
May 14, 2018

2018 MFA exhibition

Pacific Northwest College of Art (PNCA) at Willamette University

James Knowlton, Ophelia (video still), 2018.

The Pacific Northwest College of Art 2018 MFA exhibition features work that is the culmination of two years of dedicated studio exploration and research by a dynamic group of 21 artists and designers in the MFA in Collaborative Design, MFA in Print Media, and MFA in Visual Studies programs.

The exhibition, with works in sculpture, video, installation, printmaking, photography, drawing, and painting, reflects countless studio hours, critiques, studio visits, community events, late nights, collaborative projects, failures and successes.

MFA in Visual Studies
Molly Alloy, Thomas Boeger, Giuliano Bruno, Allynn Carpenter, Hannah Concannon, Nesho Dimov, J.D.F., rubén garcía marrufo, James Knowlton, Cassandra Laurion, Eric Long, Haley Grace Lusby, Ian Nickols, Lynsee Sardell, Elena Thomas, Chanel Adair

MFA in Collaborative Design
Katy Mitchell, Alicia B. DeMellier

MFA Print Media
Skye Tafoya, Travis Geoghegan, Sherry Jankiewicz

These are just some of the graduating candidates in the seven graduate programs of the Hallie Ford School of Graduate Studies at Pacific Northwest College of Art. These programs in art, design, craft, and theory celebrate and support the development of experimental, interdisciplinary, and collaborative creative practices through meaningful faculty-student relationships, engaging seminars, and mentor-guided studio practice.

Students conduct original research and develop new ideas under the guidance of supportive professionals whose expertise is specifically attuned to the students’ areas of interest. These mentors work closely with students, individualizing their approach and acting as advocates, critics, and colleagues while encouraging students to continually broaden and deepen their critical investigations through research, experimentation, and exploration.

This is an education that nurtures strong, intelligent, and motivated artists, designers, and scholars who actively engage to create the kind of world they want to inhabit.

For more information about any of the programs at the Hallie Ford School of Graduate Studies at Pacific Northwest College of Art, please contact the Chairs, or click here to request information.

MFA in Visual Studies—Chair, Peter Simensky, psimensky [​at​] pnca.edu
MA in Design Systems/MFA in Collaborative Design—Chair, Peter Schoonmaker, pschoonmaker [​at​] pnca.edu
MA in Critical Studies—Chair, Shawna Lipton, slipton [​at​] pnca.edu
MFA in Print Media—Chair, Matthew Letzelter, mletzelter [​at​] pnca.edu
Low-Residency MFA in Visual Studies—Chair, Aeron Bergman, abergman [​at​] pnca.edu
MFA in Applied Craft and Design—Chair, Heidi Schwegler, hschwegler [​at​] ocac.edu (offered jointly with Oregon College of Art and Craft)

Apply online

Pacific Northwest College of Art (PNCA) empowers students to reimagine what art and design can do in the world with ten undergraduate and seven graduate programs. Located in the heart of Portland, PNCA is in the center of a progressive and affordable urban center known for its independent spirit, innovative mindset, and creative industries.

Thank you!

An email with a confirmation link has been sent to the email address you entered. To complete your subscription, click this link.