Final call for applications
Piet Zwart Institute
Above: Raluca Croitoru, Assemble Relatives (MFA graduate exhibition), 2016. Photo: Sol Archer.
Above: Raluca Croitoru, Assemble Relatives (MFA graduate exhibition), 2016. Photo: Sol Archer.

Final deadline (EU and Dutch applicants): May 15, 2018

Piet Zwart Institute
Wijnhaven 61
3011 WJ Rotterdam
the Netherlands

The Piet Zwart Institute admits candidates on a rolling basis from December 2017 to May 2018, until all positions in the cohorts are filled. May 15 is the final deadline for applications for the academic year 2018–19 (for European / Dutch applicants only).

The Piet Zwart Institute houses the international master programmes of the Willem de Kooning Academy at Hogeschool Rotterdam. Named after the pioneering Dutch designer Piet Zwart, who worked experimentally across different media and contexts, our institute offers a rich combination of in-depth specialisation and interdisciplinary exchange in an intimate learning environment.

The programmes of the Piet Zwart Institute are located in the heart of Rotterdam’s city centre. While students and faculty come from across the globe, bringing with them a variety of cultural influences, there are also strong connections to the city, its complex history and dynamic urban environment.

We have four master programmes: Fine Art, Interior Architecture: Research + Design, Master Media Design: Experimental Publishing and Lens-Based, and the Master Education in Arts. All are founded on a shared interest in the complex social, cultural and political underpinnings of each discipline. Through a uniquely tailored curriculum combining collective learning, intensive individual tutorial support, practice-based research and theoretical inquiry, our programmes educate young professionals who have a critically reflective and imaginative approach to their work.

Exhibitions, symposia, conferences and publications expand our research beyond the confines of the academy, while simultaneously valuing speculative spaces for reflection and knowledge building that is made possible through the rigorous academic framework of the Piet Zwart Institute.

Teaching staff (see the website for detailed biographies of the teaching staff)
Fine Art: Liesbeth Bik (artist), Kate Briggs (translator, writer), Bernd Krauß (artist), Vivian Sky Rehberg (Course Director), Mike Sperlinger (writer, curator), Jan Verwoert (theorist, critic), Katarina Zdjelar (artist) and Nina Wakeford (artist, annual visiting tutor, 2017–18 academic year).

Media Design—Experimental Publishing: Aymeric Mansoux (Course Director, artist, writer, WdKA research professor), Delphine Bedel (artist, lecturer, curator and publisher), Andre Castro (media artist), Michael Murtaugh (independent computer programmer), Steve Rushton (writer, editor), Marloes de Valk (artist, writer)

Media Design—Lens-Based: Simon Pummell (Course Director, filmmaker, WdKA research professor), David Haines (visual artist), Ine Lamers (visual artist), Javier Lloret (artist, researcher), Aymeric Mansoux (research professor, code, art, politics, free culture), Barend Onneweer (independent visual effects and animation artist), Steve Rushton (writer, editor), Marloes de Valk (artist, writer)

Interior Architecture: Research + Design: Andrea Bagnato (editor, researcher), Max Bruinsma (writer, critic, editorial design), Daphne Heemskerk (graphic designer), Ephraim Joris (architect, interiors), Olivier Otten (interaction designer), Selina Parr (designer), Alex Suárez (Course Director, architect, educator), Marta M Roy Torrecilla (architect), Lara Tolman (designer), Füsun Türetken (architect, visual artist)

Education in Arts: Ingrid Commandeur (Course Director), Jolande Bosch (artist, educator), Kate Brehme (researcher, curator, educator), Elizabeth Graham (museum educator, curator), Michelle Kasprzak (educator / media and digital cultures), Fianne Konings (researcher, educator), Prof. Dr. Frans-Willem Korsten (educator / researcher critical theory and pedagogy), Barbara Mahlknecht (curator, educator), Irina Shapiro (designer, design educator), Renee Turner (artist/researcher, educator), Sjoerd Westbroek (artist, educator).

Application guidelines

Contact: [email protected]

April 18, 2018


Piet Zwart Institute, Rotterdam