December 7, 2006

The University of Delaware

University of Delaware

The University of Delaware’s M.F.A. Program

A collaborative program in an ideal location for studying visual artTo make important art is an automatically expansive process. It is a momentum and an action, disregarding traditional boundaries in favor of ideas and actualizations.

The Department of Art at the University of Delaware realizes that contemporary artists benefit from a thorough investigation of their own practice as well as wide-ranging feedback from others, and we strive to create an environment that encourages these conditions.

We encourage applications to our M.F.A. Program ( ) from dedicated artists looking to expand their work through dialogue and practice. The department’s application deadline is January 15.

Our graduate students have excellent on-campus studios and access to state-of-the-art facilities. The M.F.A. program consists of around 30 students who are encouraged to interact in an intimate environment with faculty and grads from all concentrations and conceptual positions. Studio resources and undergraduate programs include painting, sculpture, ceramics, printmaking, and photography.

The University of Delaware offers outstanding funding for students: approximately 12 Teaching Assistantships (full tuition plus $14,000/year for teaching and service, awarded on a competitive basis); several block tuitions grants that cover full tuition; as well as other competitive fellowships offered by the Office of Graduate Studies.

The University’s centralized location on the eastern corridor of the United States makes it an ideal location to study visual art. Situated midway between Philadelphia and Baltimore, the campus is about two hours by train/car north to New York City, or south to Washington, D.C.

Visiting artists and critics to the program have included:

Elizabeth Murray

Judy Pfaff

Robert Storr

Jerome Witkin

Elizabeth Dworkin

Robert Birmelin

Leonard Kociansky

Donald Kuspit

Peter Plagens

Laurie Fendrich

Donald Lipski

Archie Rand

Willy Heeks

Thomas Naskowsky

Gary Stephan

Joel Shapiro

Stephen Westphal

Jerry Saltz

Beverly Fishman

Janet Fish

Don Colley

David Bates

Brian Rutenberg

Sue Coe

Ellen Burchenal

Gregory Amenoff

Sam Hunter

Dorothea Rockburne

Julie Heffernan

Nancy Brett

Gordon Moore

Robert Pincus Witten

Joyce Scott

Janine Antoni

Jacob Ciocci (of Paper Rad)

Brian Bishop

Buzz Spector

John Yau

Thank you!

An email with a confirmation link has been sent to the email address you entered. To complete your subscription, click this link.