June 17, 2013

Meiss/Mellon Author’s Award Recipientsand Fall Grant Deadlines

College Art Association (CAA)

Image courtesy of the College Art Association.

The College Art Association (CAA) is pleased to announce the five inaugural recipients of the new Meiss/Mellon Author’s Book Award. Thanks to a one-year grant of 60,000 USD from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, CAA will provide funds to emerging authors who are publishing monographs on the history of art and related subjects. The purpose of the subventions is to reduce the financial burden that authors carry when acquiring images for publication, including licensing and reproduction fees for both print and online publications.

The winning books for spring 2013 are:

–Claudia Brittenham, The Cacaxtla Paintings: How Art Shaped the Identity of an Ancient Central Mexican City, University of Texas Press

–Chelsea Foxwell, In Search of Images: Kano Hogai and the Making of Modern Japanese-Style Painting, University of Chicago Press

–Jesse Locker, The Hands of Aurora: Artemisia Gentileschi and Her Contemporaries, Yale University Press

–Megan R. Luke, Kurt Schwitters: Space, Image, Exile, University of Chicago Press

–Karl Whittington, Body-Worlds: Opicinus de Canistris and the Medieval Cartographic Imagination, Press of the Pontifical Institute of Mediaeval Studies

Successful applicants are emerging scholars who have a contract with a publisher for a manuscript on art history or visual studies. For full details about the grant, please review the Application Guidelines and the Application Process, Schedule, and Checklist. Fall deadline: September 15, 2013.

Twice yearly, CAA awards grants to the publishers of six books in art history and visual culture through the Millard Meiss Publication Fund. Books eligible for Meiss grants must be under contract with a publisher and on a subject in the visual arts or art history. Please review the Application Guidelines for more information and eligibility details. Deadline for fall applications: September 15, 2013.

This fall, CAA will accept applications for the Wyeth Foundation for American Art Publication Grant. Through a generous grant from the Wyeth Foundation for American Art, these awards support book-length scholarly manuscripts in the history of American art, visual studies, and related subjects. For this grant program, “American art” is defined as art created in the United States, Canada, and Mexico through 1970. Please review the Application Guidelines for more information. Deadline for fall applications: September 15, 2013.

If you have any questions about any of these grants, please contact Alex Gershuny, CAA editorial associate, at T 212 392 4424 or [email protected].

Thank you!

An email with a confirmation link has been sent to the email address you entered. To complete your subscription, click this link.