December 17, 2013

Penn MFA at the Whitney Biennial

University of Pennsylvania
Photo Credit: Jacolby Satterwhite, Alpha. C-print and still from Reifying Desire 6, 53′ x 30”, 2013.

Jacolby Satterwhite (MFA 2010) and three University of Pennsylvania Fine Arts professors, Terry Adkins, Ken Lum and Joshua Mosley have been selected to participate in the 2014 edition of the Whitney Biennial. Featuring 103 artists from across the country, the event will be held at the Whitney Museum of American Art from March 7 through May 25, 2014.

The Biennial’s three curators, Stuart Comer, Anthony Elms and Michelle Grabner will each organize one floor of the exhibition. The announcement that Penn will be represented in such unique ways on all three floors reflects the diversity of our program’s strengths and abilities to synthesize a very broad range of approaches to practice-based research.

About the Whitney
The Whitney Museum of American Art is the world’s leading museum of twentieth-century and contemporary art of the United States. With a history of exhibiting the most promising and influential artists and provoking intense debate, the Whitney Biennial, the Museum’s signature exhibition, has become the most important survey of the state of contemporary art in the United States.

MFA Program Faculty
Terry Adkins, Nancy Davenport, Matt Freedman, Ken Lum
Virgil Marti, Joshua Mosley, Orkan Telhan, Jackie Tileston

MFA Program Senior Critics 2013–14
Carlos Basualdo, Michael Brenson, Amanda Ross Ho
Nina Katchadourian, Yasmil Raymond, Alexi Worth

Visiting Artists
Sharon Hayes, Dawoud Bey, Not Vital, Wael Shawky, Allora and Calzadilla, Mary Reid Kelley, Molly Zuckerman-Hartung, Barnaby Furnas, Tim Davis, Alfredo Jaar, Jon Kessler, Fia Backström, Paul Chan, Wendy White, Steffani Jemison, Jules de Balincourt, Leslie Hewitt, Hamza Walker, Kota Ezawa, Spencer Finch, Stefan Sagmeister, Diana Cooper, Charlene Von Heyl, Moyra Davey, Matthew Day Jackson, Krzysztof Wodiczko, Anne Chu, Theaster Gates, Barnaby Furnas, Kamrooz Aram, Rick Lowe, Matthew Monahan, David Salle, Mika Rottenberg, Josiah McElheny, Stan Douglas, Amy Franceschini, Charles Atlas, Gary Hill, David Humphrey, Oron Catts

Application Deadline – January 14, 2014
Download the PennMFA Program Catalog
To schedule a visit or for program inquires, contact: [email protected]or (215) 898-8374

Thank you!

An email with a confirmation link has been sent to the email address you entered. To complete your subscription, click this link.