Related
Announcement
September 8, 2014

Art in the First Person, fall 2014

School of Visual Arts (SVA)
William Vázquez, The Power of a Smile, from the “India” series, 2014. Courtesy of the artist.

School of Visual Arts presents the fall 2014 lineup of its popular Art in the First Person lecture series. This season’s schedule features more than 20 talks with acclaimed artists, curators, designers, scholars and writers—on topics ranging from architecture to war-zone photography—and is jointly presented by the MFA Art Practice, MPS Digital Photography, BFA Fine Arts, MFA Fine Arts, BFA Photography and BFA Visual & Critical Studies departments. All events are free and open to the public.

School of Visual Arts has been a leader in the education of artists, designers and creative professionals for more than six decades. With a faculty of distinguished working professionals, a dynamic curriculum and an emphasis on critical thinking, SVA is a catalyst for innovation and social responsibility. Comprised of more than 6,000 students at its Manhattan campus and 35,000 alumni in 100 countries, SVA also represents one of the most influential artistic communities in the world. For more information about the College’s 32 undergraduate and graduate degree programs, visit sva.edu.

Deborah Goldberg
Isamu Noguchi: Visionary Designer
Monday, September 8, 6:30pm

Alison Zavos, Editor-in-Chief of FeatureShoot.com
Tuesday, September 9, 7pm

Rosalind Solomon, with Charlotte Cotton
Tuesday, September 9, 7pm

Alaina Claire Feldman, Rujeko Hockley, David Everitt Howe, Jenny Jaskey, Piper Marshall, Jovana Stokic, Chris Wiley
Curators: The Younger Than Jesus Effect
Tuesday, September 16, 6:30pm

Pablo León de la Barra, with Carla Stellweg
Monday, September 22, 6:30pm

Ben Lowy
Tuesday, September 23, 7pm

Angel Nevarez
Tuesday, October 7, 6pm

Robin Schwartz
Tuesday, October 7, 7pm

Galia Solomonoff
Monday, October 13, 6:30pm

A. K. Burns
Tuesday, October 14, 6pm

Terry Boddie
Tuesday, October 21, 7pm

Isaac Diggs and Edward Hillel, with Vicky Goldberg
Monday, October 27, 7pm

Petah Coyne
Tuesday, October 28, 6pm

Alix Pearlstein
Tuesday, November 4, 6pm

Cig Harvey
Tuesday, November 4, 7pm

Museums and Radical Politics: 1969 Revisited
Monday, November 10, 6:30pm

Gianni Jetzer
Tuesday, November 11, 6pm

Susan Silas
Tuesday, November 11, 7pm

Surveillance Photography: Personal, Public and Profit
Wednesday, November 12, 7pm

Susan Craine, Moon (a.k.a. Alex Lowery), Katy Rubin, Heidi Schmidt
No Fixed Address: Art as an Advocacy Tool for the Homeless
Monday, November 17, 6:30pm

Thyrza N. Goodeve
Tuesday, November 18, 6pm

William Vázquez
Tuesday, November 18, 7pm

David Row
Tuesday, November 25, 6pm

Kate Gilmore
Tuesday, December 2, 6pm

Media Farzin
Tuesday, December 9, 6pm

Susan Bright
Tuesday, December 9, 7pm

‘Zombie’ Formalism and Other Recent Speculations in Abstraction
Wednesday, December 10, 7pm

 

SVA announces 2014 Art in the First Person lecture series

Thank you!

An email with a confirmation link has been sent to the email address you entered. To complete your subscription, click this link.