November 10, 2015

2016 Honorary Degree Recipients

Institute for Doctoral Studies in the Visual Arts (IDSVA)
 IDSVA Director Simonetta Moro, Drawn to the High Line (detail), 2010–11. Ink on paper scroll. Photo: Cibele Newman.

Celebrating our 10th anniversary, we are pleased to announce the following Honorary Degree Recipients.

Power Boothe
Painter, Professor of Art, former Dean, Hartford Art School, represented in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim, Whitney, and MoMA.

Joyce Kozloff
American artist, feminist, and founding member of the Heresies Collective. Represented in the Brooklyn Museum, Fogg Art Museum, Harvard University, Metropolitan Museum, Jewish Museum, and MIT List Visual Arts Center.

Howard Caygill
European philosopher. Recent books include On resistance: a philosophy of defiance and Levinas and the Political. Professor of Modern European Philosophy, Kingston University, London.

Deborah Willis
Contemporary African-American artist, photographer, curator, photographic historian and author; Chair of Department of Photography and Imaging, Tisch School of the Arts, NYU; MacArthur Fellow.

Ted Coons
Author and pioneer in neuro-aesthetics. Professor of Psychology, Cognition & Perception, Center for Neural Science, NYU.

Ewa Ziarek
Founder of Humanities Institute, Julian Park Professor of Comparative Literature, and Director of Graduate Studies, SUNY Buffalo. Books include Feminist Aesthetics and the Politics of Modernism and An Ethics of Dissensus. 

Stephen Greenblatt
American literary critic, theorist, scholar, and Pulitzer Prize-winning author. John Cogan University Professor of the Humanities, Harvard University.

Thank you!

An email with a confirmation link has been sent to the email address you entered. To complete your subscription, click this link.