April 1, 2016

2016 season fellows

Civitella Ranieri Architecture Prize
Civitella Ranieri © 2008.

Civitella Ranieri Foundation announces its fellows in residence for the 2016 season. These 51 writers, composers, and visual artists are from 24 countries in North and South America, Europe, Asia, and Africa. This prestigious Fellowship is now in its 22nd year.

Visual Arts 
Lorenza Boisi (Italy), Jonah Bokaer (USA), Beatrice Catanzaro (Italy), Michele Ciacciofera (Italy), Jennifer Paige Cohen (USA), Pablo Hare (Peru), Teresa Hubbard/Alexander Birchler (USA/Ireland/Switzerland), Sharka Hyland (Czech Republic/USA), Mikhail Karikis (Greece/UK), Taus Makhacheva (Russia), Helen Mirra (USA), Uriel Orlow (Switzerland/UK), Shahpour Pouyan (Iran), Oleksiy Radynski (Ukraine), Michelle Segre (USA), Liina Siib (Estonia), Sofia Taboas (Mexico)

Kamel Daoud, Kirby Family Foundation Fellow(Algeria), Matthew Dickman (USA), Andrew Sean Greer (USA), Ross Gay (USA), Kimmy Grey, Persea BooksLexi RudnitskyFirst Book Price Awardee(USA), Kim Insuk (South Korea), Margo Jefferson (USA), Rusty Morrison (USA), Hannah Sanghee Park, Academy of American PoetsWalt Whitman Awardee (USA), D. A. Powell (USA), Spencer Reece (USA), Menekse Toprak (Turkey), Gia-Bao Tran (USA), Carol Tyler (USA), Pieter-Dirk Uys (South Africa), Ocean Vuong (USA)

Linda Buckley (Ireland), Maria Chavez (Peru/USA), Sophie Cotton (UK), Bernd Richard Deutsch (Austria), Javier Alvarez Fuentes (Mexico), Samuel Holloway (New Zealand), Johann Johannsson (Iceland), Christian Kesten (Germany), Matmos (USA), Benedicte Maurseth (Norway), Olga Neuwirth (Austria), John Oswald (Canada), Jane Rigler, Composers Now Awardee(USA), Chiyoko Szlavnics (Canada/Germany), Lu Wang (China/USA), Thuridur Jónsdóttir (Iceland)


The Civitella Ranieri Foundation opens the doors of its 15th century castle in rural Umbria annually for four six-week residency sessions of self-directed studio and work time. Each residency community brings together 12–15 accomplished international artists, composers, and writers at emerging and established moments in their careers. They are joined by a limited number of invited Director’s Guests to foster a robust contemporary dialogue that transcends disciplines and geography. A Civitella Ranieri Fellowship changes lives, develops permanent connections, and refreshes the work at hand.

Fellowships are awarded through a careful nomination and jury process by a rotating group of distinguished artists, academics, and critics that ensures access to a highly diverse group of emerging and accomplished candidates from around the world. Recipients receive round-trip airfare, room, and board.

Civitella Ranieri Foundation, Inc, is a nonprofit 501(c)3 operating foundation with administrative offices in New York City.


Civitella Ranieri Foundation announces 2016 fellows

Thank you!

An email with a confirmation link has been sent to the email address you entered. To complete your subscription, click this link.