search
Live stream of Re:Trace—7th International Conference on the Histories of Media Art, Science and Technology
Danube University
Above: Marcel Duchamp, Rotorelief, 1965. Courtesy of Bermant Foundation. Photo: Anne Niemetz.
Above: Marcel Duchamp, Rotorelief, 1965. Courtesy of Bermant Foundation. Photo: Anne Niemetz.
November 23–25, 2017

www.donau-uni.ac.at

Danube University 
Dr.-Karl-Dorrek-Straße 30 
3500 Krems
Austria 

Göttweig Abbey
3511 Furth
Austria 

Austrian Academy of Sciences
Doktor-Ignaz-Seipel-Platz 2
1010 Vienna
Austria

The 7th International Conference on the Histories of Media Art, Science and Technology—Re:Trace—will be hosted by the Department for Image Science and held jointly at Danube University, Göttweig Abbey and the Austrian Academy of Sciences, Vienna. Following Banff 2005, Berlin 2007, Melbourne 2009, Liverpool 2011, Riga 2013 and Montreal 2015, the Media Art History Boards and Co-Chairs invite you to attend Re:Trace 2017 in Krems/Göttweig/Vienna in person or virtually.

Over three days (November 23 to 25, 2017), the following 5 keynotes and other lectures will be live-streamed from the conference at three venues in the UNESCO World Heritage Wachau region of Austria, at Danube University Krems, Göttweig Abby, and the Austrian Academy of Sciences in Vienna. You will have access to the live streaming via the conference website or department website.

Re:Trace keynote lectures live streaming

Thursday, November 23, 2017 (Danube University)
3:20am NY / 9:20am Austria / 3:20pm Bangkok / 7:20pm Sydney 
Ryszard Kluszczyński (University of Lodz, PL): Monument as Archive: Artistic Strategies from Anti- to Meta-Memorial

11:30am NY / 5:30pm Austria / 11:30pm Bangkok / 3:30am (Friday) Sydney 
Morten Søndersgaard (Aalborg University, DK): Archiving Agencies: Tracing the Implied Producers of Media Art Collections

Friday, November 24, 2017 (Göttweig Abbey)
3:45am NY / 9:45am Austria / 3:45pm Bangkok / 7:45pm Sydney 
Wendy Hui Kyong Chun (Brown University, US): Approximate Repetitions: Latent Big Data

Saturday, November 25, 2017 (Austrian Academy of Sciences, Vienna)
4am NY / 10am Austria / 4pm Bangkok / 8pm Sydney 
Sarah Kenderdine (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, CH): Postdigital Pasts

noon NY / 6pm  Austria / midnight (Sunday) Bangkok / 4am (Sunday) Sydney 
Martin Kemp (Oxford University, UK): Computerising Leonardo: A Visual Dialogue from 1988 to Now

More information about the keynote lectures–including presenter bios and presentation abstracts–can be found on the RE:TRACE homepage

Other live streaming sessions and presenters (daily 5–11am NY, 11am–5pm Austria, 5–11pm Bangkok, 9pm–3am Sydney)
Media Art & Politics (Steve Dixon, Andres Burbano, Kevin Hamilton, Gerald Nestler), Politics - Ambitious goals with tactical media (Dmitry Galkin, Polonia Tratnik), Politics - Ecology, politics, and aesthetics I (Aaron Burton, Jens Hauser, Yvonne Volkart, Viola Rühse), Political and aesthetic impacts of automated classifications (Maciej Ożóg, Jennifer Gradecki/Derek Curry, Devon Schiller), Internet infrastructure under scrutiny (David Gauthier /Michael Dieter/Marc Tuters, Natalia Fedorova, Martín Nadal/César Escudero Andaluz, Andre Mintz), DH: Preservation strategies: Performing and rethinking materiality (Laura Leuzzi, Margrét Elísabet Olafsdóttir, Denisa Kera /Cynthia Selin), Dariah Connectivity Part I: Collection - Archiving – Preservation (Francesca Franco, Andreas Broeckmann, Giselle Beiguelman, Janina Hoth, Annet Dekker), Dariah Connectivity Part II: Preservation strategies: Dynamic archiving (George Legrady, Ann-Marie Duguet)

After the live streaming, videos of the lectures will be accessible via the Media Art Research Archive.

The entire online program with speakers and presenters from more than 50 nations is available here.

Conference Co-Chairs: Oliver Grau and Inge Hinterwaldner

Re:Trace partners: Austrian Academy of Sciences, Vienna / Lower Austria / Humboldt University, Berlin / Archive of Digital Art / DARIAH-EU / Erasmus Mundus Media Arts Cultures / Academia Europaea / Leonardo / Kunsthalle Krems

Re:Trace host: The Department for Image Science at Danube University –located in the UNESCO world heritage Wachau–is an internationally unique institution for research and innovative teaching with an international faculty, with 120 scholars from various disciplines. The innovative approach of the Department for Image Science with the close connection to practice has developed the Archive of Digital Art and in 2006 founded the low-residency MediaArtHistories-Advanced, MA, and the low-residency Exhibition Development, CP.

MediaArtHistories on Facebook: www.facebook.com/groups/377264145713664/

Image Science on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bildwissenschaft/

Ad

November 21, 2017

location

Danube University, Dr.-Karl-Dorrek-Straße 30, 3500 Krems, Austria