January 17, 2019

College Art Association Announces Recipients of the 2019 Awards for Distinction

NEW YORK—The College Art Association announced today the recipients and finalists of the 2019 Awards for Distinction. will be presented at the convocation of the College Art Association Annual Conference in New York, Wednesday, February 13.

Howardena Pindell, artist and professor of painting and conceptual drawing at Stony Brook University (SUNY) has won the 2019 Distinguished Artist Award for Lifetime Achievement. Sculptor Ursula von Rydingsvard has received the 2019 Artist Award for Distinguished Body of Work. CAA also recognized the Chicano Studies Research Center at the University of California, Los Angeles, for the Award for Excellence in Diversity for 2019 and artist Senga Nengudi and scholar Anna C. Chave as dual Distinguished Feminist awardees.

The full list of honorees includes:

Distinguished Teaching of Art Award
Susanne Slavick

Distinguished Teaching of Art History Award
Nancy S. Steinhardt
Edward Sullivan

Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award for Writing on Art
Molly Nesbit

Charles Rufus Morey Book Award
Zeynep Çelik Alexander
Kinaesthetic Knowing: Aesthetics, Epistemology, Modern Design
University of Chicago Press, 2017

Olga Bush
Reframing the Alhambra: Architecture, Poetry, Textiles and Court Ceremonial of Mankind
Edinburgh University Press, 2018

Linda Kim
Race Experts: Sculpture, Anthropology, and the American Public in Malvina Hoffman’s Races
University of Nebraska Press, 2018

Carolyn Yerkes
Drawing after Architecture
Princeton University Press, 2017

Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award
Wendy Kaplan
Design in California and Mexico 1915–1985: Found in Translation
Los Angeles County Museum of Art, 2017

Jeffrey Spier and Timothy Potts
Beyond the Nile: Egypt and the Classical World
J. Paul Getty Trust, 2018

Christophe Cherix
Adrian Piper: A Synthesis of Intuitions 1965–2016
Museum of Modern Art, 2018

Naoko Takahatake and Jonathan Bober
The Chiaroscuro Woodcut in Renaissance Italy
Los Angeles County Museum of Art, 2018

Cecilia Fajardo-Hill, Andrea Giunta, and Rodrigo Alonso
Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960–1985
Hammer Museum, University of California, 2017

Alfred H. Barr Jr. Award for Smaller Museums, Libraries, Collections and Exhibitions
Andrew C. Weislogel and Andaleeb Badiee Banta
Lines of Inquiry: Learning from Rembrandt’s Etchings
Herbert F. Johnson Museum of Art, Cornell University, 2017

Patrick A. Polk, Roberto Conduru, Sabrina Gledhill, and Randal Johnson
Axé Bahia: The Power of Art in an Afro-Brazilian Metropolis
Fowler Museum at UCLA, 2018

Antonio Sergio Bessa and Jessamyn Fiore
Gordon Matta-Clark: Anarchitect
Bronx Museum of Art, 2017

Mark Sloan
Fahamu Pecou: Visible Man
Halsey Institute of Contemporary Art, 2016

Frank Jewett Mather Award for Art Criticism
Julia Bryan-Wilson
Fray: Art + Textile Politics
University of Chicago Press, 2017

Rebecca M. Schreiber
The Undocumented Everyday: Migrant Lives and the Politics of Visibility
University of Minnesota Press, 2018

Art Journal Award
Mara Polgovsky Ezcurra
“Beyond Evil: Politics, Ethics, and Religion in Léon Ferrari’s Illustrated Nunca más”
Art Journal, Fall 2018

Arthur Kingsley Porter Prize
Nathan T. Arrington
“Touch and Remembrance in Greek Funerary Art”
The Art Bulletin, September 2018

CAA/AIC Award for Distinction in Scholarship and Conservation
Karl S. Buchberg
Jodi Hauptman

Thank you!

An email with a confirmation link has been sent to the email address you entered. To complete your subscription, click this link.