January 29, 2018

College Art Association Names Recipients of Its 2018 Awards for Distinction

NEW YORK—The College Art Association has named the recipients and finalists of its 2018 Awards for Distinction, to be presented at the association’s annual conference in Los Angeles, February 21 through 24. Honorees include Pepón Osorio, recipient of the Distinguished Artist Award for Lifetime Achievement; Firelei Báez, recipient of the Artist Award for Distinguished Body of Work; and art historian Kellie Jones, inaugural recipient of the Award for Excellence in Diversity; and artist Lynn Hershman Leeson and curator Lowery Stokes Sims, dual recipients of the Distinguished Feminist Award.

Further distinctions include:

Charles Rufus Morey Book Award
Benjamin Anderson, Cosmos and Community in Early Medieval Art, Yale University Press, 2017.

Laura Anne Kalba, Color in the Age of Impressionism: Commerce, Technology, and Art, Penn State University Press, 2017.

Alfred H. Barr, Jr., Award
Barbara Drake Boehm and Melanie Holcomb, editors of Jerusalem, 1000–1400: Every People Under Heaven, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2016.

Alfred H. Barr, Jr., Award for Smaller Museums, Libraries, Collections, and Exhibitions
Melissa Rachleff, Inventing Downtown: Artist-Run Galleries in New York City, 1952–1965, Grey Art Gallery, New York University, DelMonico Books, Prestel, 2017.

Frank Jewett Mather Award for Art Criticism
Elise Archias, The Concrete Body: Yvonne Rainer, Carolee Schneemann, Vito Acconci, Yale University Press, 2016.

Art Journal Award
Heather Igloliorte, “Curating Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit: Inuit Knowledge in the Qallunaat Art Museum,” Art Journal, Summer 2017.

Arthur Kingsley Porter Prize: Aaron M. Hyman, “Inventing Painting: Cristóbal de Villalpando, Juan Correa, and New Spain’s Transatlantic Canon,” The Art Bulletin, June 2017.

Awards for Distinction in Teaching, Writing on Art, and Conservation
Distinguished Teaching Award: Helen Frederick

Distinguished Teaching of Art History: Edward S. Cooke, Jr., and Alex Potts

Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award for Writing on Art: Joseph Masheck

CAA/American Institute for Conservation Award: Paul Messier

Thank you!

An email with a confirmation link has been sent to the email address you entered. To complete your subscription, click this link.