New York’s Foundation for Contemporary Arts Names 2018 Grant Awardees

NEW YORK—The Foundation for Contemporary Arts, founded in 1963 by Jasper Johns and John Cage, has announced its 2018 grant recipients. Nineteen artists have each been awarded an unrestricted grant for $40,000, including six awards named for artists who’ve been associated with the FCA.

This year’s recipients in the following categories are:

Ligia Lewis, Berlin, Germany 
Yvonne Meier, New York, NY (Dorothea Tanning Award) 
Mariana Valencia, Brooklyn, NY 
Netta Yerushalmy, New York, NY

Joshua Abrams, Chicago, IL 
Sylvie Courvoisier, Brooklyn, NY 
Bonnie Jones, Baltimore, MD 
Catherine Lamb, Berlin, Germany 
Laurie Spiegel, New York, NY

Performance Art/Theater 
Los Angeles Poverty Department, Los Angeles, CA (Robert Rauschenberg Award)

Anne Boyer, Kansas City, MO (The Cy Twombly Award) 
Fred Moten, New York, NY (The Roy Lichtenstein Award) 
Lisa Robertson, Nalliers, France (C.D. Wright Award for Poetry)

Visual Arts 
EJ Hill, Los Angeles, CA 
Simone Leigh, New York, NY 
Sam Lewitt, Brooklyn, NY 
Dave McKenzie, Brooklyn, NY 
Carissa Rodriguez, New York, NY

John Cage Award 
Toshi Ichiyanagi, Tokyo, Japan


January 24, 2018