July 12, 2017

Robert Rauschenberg Foundation Names 2017 Artist as Activist Fellows

NEW YORK—The Robert Rauschenberg Foundation has announced the recipients of its 2017 Artist as Activist fellowships. The program provides artists and art collectives who address social issues in their works with up to $100,000 over a period of two years, along with access to opportunities for professional advancement.

After the foundation received more than six hundred applications from forty-two states for its inaugural round of fellowships in 2015, it decided to narrow the focus of future open calls by inviting projects addressing a specific issue or theme. This year’s fellows were asked to address racial justice through the lens of mass incarceration.

The 2017 fellows are Eve Abrams, Chicago Torture Justice Memorial, Erika Cohn, Jesse Krimes, Jo Kreiter, Michelle Ortiz, Zoey Martinson, Alex Rivera and Cristina Ibarra, and Spirithouse. A detailed description of the artists’ projects can be found on the foundation’s website.

Thank you!

An email with a confirmation link has been sent to the email address you entered. To complete your subscription, click this link.