Yale University School of Art

The mission of the Yale School of Art is to provide students with intellectually informed, hands-on instruction in the practice of an array of visual arts media within the context of a liberal arts university. As a part of the first institution of higher learning to successfully integrate a studio-based education into such a broad pedagogical framework, the Yale School of Art has a long and distunguished history of training artists of the highest caliber. The School of Art is founded on the belief that art is a fundamental force in national and international culture, and that one of the primary standards by which societies are judged is the quality, creative freedom, critical insight, and formal and technical innovation of the visual art they produce. The Yale School of Art teaches at the graduate and undergraduate levels, and consequently the student body consists of those whose primary or exclusive focus is art as well as those for whom art is an essential part of a varied course of inquiry.



Painting/printmaking, sculpture, photography: 2 years, full time; Graphic design: 3 years.


Graphic design

current faculty

Doug Ashford, Anna Betbeze, Katherine Bradford, Gregory Crewdson, Anoka Faruqee, Rochelle Feinstein, Jennie C. Jones, Martin Kersels, Byron Kim, Marta Kuzma, Sheila Levrant de Bretteville, Sarah Oppenheimer, Sarah Stevens-Morling, Collier Schorr, Mark Wasiuta.

notable alumni

Michele Abeles, Njideka Akunyili Crosby, Matthew Barney, Kevin Beasley, Dawoud Bey, Sascha Braunig, Sara Cwynar, Philip-Lorca diCorcia, Nancy Graves, Eva Hesse, Mary Reid Kelley, Ella Kruglyanskaya, Nancy Lupo, Martin Puryear, Richard Serra, Jeffrey Scudder, Mickalene Thomas, Kehinde Wiley, Amy Yao.