University of California, San Diego

UC San Diego is dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through excellence in education and research at the undergraduate, graduate, professional school and postdoctoral levels. Our academic community of world-renowned faculty, bright students and dedicated staff is characterized by a culture of interdisciplinary collaboration and innovation which spans the globe. To foster the best possible working and learning environment, our university strives to maintain a climate of fairness, cooperation, and professionalism. UC San Diego embraces diversity, equity, and inclusion as essential ingredients of academic excellence in higher education. The University of California, San Diego is dedicated to learning, teaching, and serving society through education, research, and public service.

Credit: UC San Diego Publications. Copyright Regents of the University of California



MFA: Three years, full-time.
PhD: Three years, full-time.


MFA: Painting, Sculpture, Performance, Installation art, Public art, Photography, Film, Video, and Digital media.

PhD: Ancient art; Medieval art; Renaissance art; Early Modern art; Modern art (nineteenth and twentieth centuries); Contemporary art; Media studies (Film, Video, Photography, Digital media); Meso-American art; North American Indian art; Asian art; Latin American art; and Art practice.

current faculty

Amy Adler, Amy Alexander, Benjamin Bratton, Sheldon Brown, Norman Bryson, Lisa Cartwright, Erica Cho, Jordan Crandall, Brian Cross, Teddy Cruz, Ricardo Dominguez, Anya Gallaccio, Jack M. Greenstein, Grant Kester, Babette Mangolte, Nicole Miller, Elizabeth A. Newsome, Rubén Ortiz-Torres, Kyong Park, Jordan Rose, Kuiyi Shen, Brett Stalbaum, Michael Trigilio, William Tronzo, Monique van Genderen, Mariana Wardwell, John C. Welchman, Alena Williams, Pinar Yoldas.

notable alumni

Carrie Mae Weems, Lorna Simpson, Martha Rosler, Fred Lonidier, Sadie Barnette, Hung Liu, Kip Fulbeck, Joyce Cutler-Shaw, Allan Sekula, Jean Lowe, Kim MacConnel, Susan Mogul.    

visiting artists

Anna Sew Hoy, Carrie Mae Weems, Zackary Drucker