The Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, Schools of Visual Arts

The Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, Schools of Visual Arts, established in 1754, is a state driven school that offers all aspects of a superior fine art education: teaching, professional growth, and research within all aspects of the visual arts.  The education consists of a three-year BFA general study program and a three-year MFA study program with four professional specializations: Sculpture, Painting, Media Arts, Conceptual & Contextual Practices. The objective of the study programs is to develop the students’ artistic practice and prepare them for a subsequent career as professional artists. This is done through one-on-one tutorials, extensive instructions and teaching in technical, practical and theoretical aspects of art, and through collective discussions and critical analysis of the work done by fellow students and by other artists. Managing one of Scandinavia’s largest spaces for contemporary art, Kunsthalle Chalottenborg, this part of the institution has a natural interaction with the public through talk and exhibition programs, and each year in April and May the Kunsthalle houses the Academy’s MFA degree show. Guest teachers from abroad and an international faculty are the core components of the international MFA study program. Artistic research is a strategic priority and is monitored at the Institute for Art, Writing and Research, housing a number of PhD and postdoctoral students and offering courses in writing, art theory and research based practice.



Full-time MFA programs, six semesters.


BFA program: General study program (interdisciplinary). MFA program: Sculpture in the expanded field; Painting and pictorial practices; Media Arts; Conceptual and Contextual Practices.

current faculty

Ed Atkins, Henrik Plenge Jakobsen, Ditte Gantriis, Honey Biba Beckerlee, David Hilmer Rex, Christian Danielewitz, Daniel Olivares, Silas Emmery, Henriette Heise, Hannah Heilmann, Rolf Nowotny, Luca Frei, Angela Melitopoulos, Ferdinand Ahm Krag, Carla Zaccagnini, Ulrik Heltoft, Lars Grenaae, Finn Naur Petersen, Jenny Graf Sheppard, Anu Ramdas, Glenn Sorensen, Franco Turchi, Karen Harsbo, Henrik Reimann, Lars Kristensen, Pontus Kjerman, Malene Bang, Sidsel Nelund, Rikke Luther, and Katarina Stenbeck.

notable alumni

Olafur Eliasson, Jesper Just, Kirstine Roepstorff, Ann Lislegaard, Joachim Koester, Jens Haaning, Henrik Plenge Jakobsen, FOS, John Kørner, Peter Land, Lea Porsager, Søren Thilo Funder, and Tove Storch.