October 19, 2021

Call for applications & virtual open house: MFA in Visual Art

Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts at Washington University in St. Louis

Sam Modder, The Duplicates Harvesting the Source of All Hair, 2021. Courtesy of the artist and the Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts.

Get your copies of Otherwise—the MFA-VA’s official publication—and our most recent thesis exhibition catalogs, and visit us November 8 at our Virtual Open House.

The Sam Fox School of Design & Visual ArtsMFA in Visual Art program (MFA-VA) is an inclusive, close-knit community of renegade makers and thinkers. Drawing on the vast resources of Washington University in St. Louis, a tier-one research institution, the program offers students a site for rigorous inquiry, intellectual generosity, and professional preparedness. Our community instills students with the agency and resiliency essential for this generation of artists.

Learn about our new curriculum, launched this fall; our chair, professor Lisa Bulawsky; and our accomplished faculty mentors.

MFA-VA studios are located in Weil Hall, a brand-new, LEED-Platinum facility. Students also have access to numerous specialized spaces for making, including a 3D digital fabrication lab, a textile studio, an expansive printmaking suite—home to Island Press and the Kranzberg Book Studio—and more. Studios are adjacent to the School's Kranzberg Art & Architecture Library and the Mildred Lane Kemper Art Museum, which recently hosted Ai Weiwei: Bare Life and is the site for the annual MFA-VA Thesis Exhibition.

We are proud of our location in St. Louis, which serves as both an extension of the studio and a site of engagement for art and artists. Learn about our Office for Socially Engaged Practice and the cultural scene in St. Louis.

Core faculty: Lisa Bulawsky (chair), Jamie Adams, Michael Byron, Amy Hauft, Meghan Kirkwood, Richard Krueger, Arny Nadler, Patricia Olynyk, Tim Portlock, Jack Risley, Denise Ward-Brown, Cheryl Wassenaar, and Monika Weiss.

Fall 2021 visiting artists & critics: Jess T. Dugan, Meleko Mokgosi, Stephanie Syjuco, Taryn Simon + Ingrid Schaffner, Cole Lu, Hugo Crosthwaite, David Antonio Cruz, Sheldon Scott, Deborah Roberts, and Adrian Octavius Walker.

Apply online by January 15, 2022.

Contact: Taylor Yocom, graduate recruitment specialist, [email protected].

Thank you!

An email with a confirmation link has been sent to the email address you entered. To complete your subscription, click this link.