Related
Announcement
May 18, 2021

what about support and what about struggle

L'Internationale Online

Lukaza Branfman-Verissimo, An Echo, 2021. Courtesy of the artist.

Lukaza Branfman-Verissimo, We as in we, 2021. Courtesy of the artist.

Lukaza Branfman-Verissimo, We as in we 2, 2021. Courtesy of the artist.

Lukaza Branfman-Verissimo, We are going to take, 2021. Courtesy of the artist.

Lukaza Branfman-Verissimo, Play it back 2, 2021. Courtesy of the artist.

Lukaza Branfman-Verissimo, Play it back, 2021. Courtesy of the artist.

Lukaza Branfman-Verissimo, Othered, 2021. Courtesy of the artist.

Lukaza Branfman-Verissimo, My body is a, 2021. Courtesy of the artist.

L’Internationale Online launches its newest e-publication, what about support and what about struggle, a collection of poetic responses on the most essential topic of today; how to survive un/natural catastrophes?

Release event: Saturday, May 22, 2021, at 1pm CEST (Stockholm, Madrid and Barcelona time), 2pm TRT (Istanbul), 7am EDT (Massachusetts and Virginia time), 8am ART (Buenos Aires), 8:30pm ACST (Alice Springs, Northern Territories Australia) and 1pm SAST (South Africa)

Join the online launch here. The event will be held in English, with simultaneous translation to Spanish. The event will also be streamed live on the Facebook page of L’Internationale Online.

For online reading, downloading, sharing and DIY printing (starting May 22), please visit the Library section of L'Internationale Online.

With Napo Masheane, Léuli Eshraghi, Merve Ünsal, tacoderaya, Lukaza Branfman-Verissimo, Francis Lo, Fernanda Laguna, Jennifer Hayashida, and Corina Oprea.

In November of 2020, Francis Lo’s volume of poetry A Series of Un/Natural Disasters (Commune Editions, 2016) was sent as a gift and an invitation to poets and artists Napo Masheane, Leuli Eshraghi, Merve Ünsal, tacoderaya, Lukaza Branfman-Verissimo, and Fernanda Laguna with the proposition to resituate its critique of catastrophe discourse in other urgent pasts and presents. what about support and what about struggle is the result of that proposition: an international speculative translation project where writers and artists across a range of geopolitical contexts have responded to Lo’s work across languages, forms, and aesthetic-political concerns.

Born in Manapla, Philippines, Francis Lo is a gender-queer poet based in the US. Published by Commune Editions in 2016, A Series of Un/Natural Disasters reads the US-based scenes and events of Hurricanes Katrina (2005) and Sandy (2012) in order to wonder about collective possibility as it intersects with state failures: what potentials might emerge when we read against the grain of precarity and erasure? What are the poetics we are left with when the un/natural entanglements of “disaster” are taken apart and reconstructed? Lo’s text utilizes translation as one of many methods to examine and critique what scholars such as Orlando Patterson term “social death,” that is, a condition of not being recognized—especially by nation-state apparatuses—as fully human, vis-a-vis a poetics of mutual aid represented through assemblage, transcription, data-gathering, interview, and still-life.

L'Internationale Online
L’Internationale Online is a platform for research and art, launched in 2014 by the museum confederation L’Internationale and currently managed by HDK-Valand Art Academy, operating within the framework of the four-year programme Our Many Europes.

The members of the editorial board are: Nick Aikens, Farah Aksoy, Sara Buraya Boned, David Crowley, Meagan Down, Anne-Claire Schmitz, Ida Hiršenfelder, Pablo Martinez, Jyoti Mistry, Corina Oprea, Yuji Kawasima, and Tove Posselt.

Editors of what about support and what about struggle: Jennifer Hayashida and Corina Oprea

L’Internationale Online is the platform for art and research of a confederation of seven modern and contemporary art institutions: MG+MSUM (Ljubljana, Slovenia); Museo Reina Sofía (Madrid, Spain); MACBA, Museu d'Art Contemporani de Barcelona (Spain); Museum of Contemporary Art Antwerp (M HKA, Antwerp, Belgium); Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw (MSN, Warsaw, Poland); SALT (Istanbul and Ankara, Turkey) and Van Abbemuseum (VAM, Eindhoven, the Netherlands). L'Internationale is working together with complementary partners such as HDK-Valand Academy of Arts and Design in Gothenburg, Sweden and the National College of Art and Design in Dublin (NCAD), Ireland.

Contact
Corina Oprea, Managing Editor L’Internationale Online, corina.oprea [​at​] internationaleonline.org

Thank you!

An email with a confirmation link has been sent to the email address you entered. To complete your subscription, click this link.