search
Fall 2019 events and exhibitions
School of Visual Arts (SVA)
Above: Jaime Permuth, Untitled, from the series "Olmedini El Mago," 2019. Digital C print. Courtesy of the artist. 
Above: Jaime Permuth, Untitled, from the series "Olmedini El Mago," 2019. Digital C print. Courtesy of the artist. 
School of Visual Arts (SVA)
209 East 23rd Street
New York, NY 10010
United States

sva.edu
Twitter / Facebook / Instagram

Into the Wild: Integrating Neuroscience with Art Therapy Theory, Practice and Research
Presented by MPS Art Therapy
Monday, September 9, 6:30pm
SVA Theatre, 333 W. 23rd St.

3D modeling and printing workshop
Tuesday, September 10, 6:30–8:30pm
Visible Futures Lab, 132 W. 21st St., 7th fl.

Thomas Holton
Presented by MPS Digital Photography
Tuesday, September 10, 7pm
136 W. 21st St., Rm. 418F

Historical Wounds and Infinite Repair: Kader Attia and Brian Kuan Wood
Friday, September 13, 7pm
MA Curatorial Practice, 132 W. 21st St., 10th fl.

Mirrored Display
Saturday, September 14–Saturday, October 5
Reception: Thursday, September 19, 6–8pm
SVA Gramercy Gallery, 209 E. 23rd St.

Tales and Whispers
Presented by BFA Fine Arts
Saturday, September 14–Saturday, October 12
Reception: Thursday, September 26, 6–8pm
SVA Flatiron Gallery, 133/141 W. 21st St.

Scheimpflug Lecture: Shimon Attie and Ming-Jer Kuo
Tuesday, September 17, 6:30pm
MFA Photography, Video and Related Media, 214 E. 21st St., Rm. 120

After School Special: The 2019 SVA Alumni Film and Animation Festival
Wednesday, September 18–Sunday, September 22
SVA Theatre, 333 W. 23rd St.

#IAMSVA
Through Friday, September 20
BFA Photography and Video, 214 E. 21st St.

Look Both Ways: The Illicit Liaison Between Image and Information
Through Saturday, September 21
SVA Chelsea Gallery, 601 W. 26th St., 15th fl.

KangHee Kim
Presented by MPS Digital Photography
Tuesday, September 24, 7pm
136 W. 21st St., Rm. 418F

MFA Social Documentary Film thesis showcase
Thursday, September 26–Saturday, September 28
SVA Theatre, 333 W. 23rd St.

What about Activism? book launch
Thursday, September 26, 7pm
MA Curatorial Practice, 132 W. 21st St., 10th fl.

Landmarks
Presented by BFA Visual & Critical Studies
Through Friday, October 4
Reception: Thursday, September 26, 6–8pm
SVA Flatiron Project Space, 133/141 W. 21st St.

The Masters Series: Steve Brodner
Saturday, October 5–Saturday, November 2
Reception: Thursday, October 10, 6–8pm
SVA Chelsea Gallery, 601 W. 26th St., 15th fl.

Justin Bettman
Presented by MPS Digital Photography
Tuesday, October 8, 7pm
136 W. 21st St., Rm. 418F

Mesmeric
Presented by MPS Digital Photography
Saturday, October 12–Saturday, November 2
Reception: Wednesday, October 23, 5–8pm
SVA Gramercy Gallery, 209 E. 23rd St.

Zoe Butt: Curatorial Survival Strategies Amid Capitalistic Malaise and Ideological Fear
Tuesday, October 15, 7pm
MA Curatorial Practice, 132 W. 21st St., 10th fl.

MFA Computer Arts exhibition
Saturday, October 19–Saturday, November 16
Reception: Thursday, October 24, 6–8pm
SVA Flatiron Gallery, 133/141 W. 21st St.

Katrin Eismann
Presented by MPS Digital Photography
Tuesday, October 22, 7pm
136 W. 21st St., Rm. 418F

Reclaiming Artistic Research book launch with Lucy Cotter and guests
Thursday, October 24, 7pm
MA Curatorial Practice, 132 W. 21st St., 10th fl.

Artist's Talk: An Evening with Steve Brodner
Wednesday, October 30, 7pm
SVA Theatre, 333 W. 23rd St.

Corinne May Botz
Presented by MPS Digital Photography
Tuesday, November 5, 7pm
136 W. 21st St., Rm. 418F

Model Minority and Model Majorities: Furen Dai, Christopher K Ho and friends
Thursday, November 7, 7pm
MA Curatorial Practice, 132 W. 21st St., 10th fl.

Becoming
Presented by BFA Photography and Video
Saturday, November 9–Wednesday, November 27
Reception: Wednesday, November 13, 6–8pm
SVA Gramercy Gallery, 209 E. 23rd St.

American Truth
Saturday, November 16–Saturday, December 14
Reception: Thursday, November 21, 6–8pm
SVA Chelsea Gallery, 601 W. 26th St., 15th fl.

Gerard H. Gaskin
Presented by MPS Digital Photography
Tuesday, November 19, 7pm
136 W. 21st St., Rm. 418F

Thanksgiving recital by pianist Daniel Gortler
Thursday, November 21, 7pm
MA Curatorial Practice, 132 W. 21st St., 10th fl.

BFA Interior Design exhibition
Saturday, November 23–Saturday, January 4
Reception: Tuesday, December 10, 6–8pm
SVA Flatiron Gallery, 133/141 W. 21st St.

Search Sweet Country: a performance by Christian Nyampeta
Thursday, December 5, 7pm
MA Curatorial Practice, 132 W. 21st St., 10th fl.

The Book Show
Presented by MFA Illustration as Visual Essay
Friday, December 6–Saturday, January 11
Reception: Monday, December 9, 6–8pm
SVA Gramercy Gallery, 209 E. 23rd St.

Kris Graves
Presented by MPS Digital Photography
Tuesday, December 10, 7pm
136 W. 21st St., Room 418F

Truth & Reconciliation panel discussion
Wednesday, December 11, 6:30pm
SVA Chelsea Gallery, 601 W. 26th St., 15th fl.

Events are free unless noted. For more information, visit sva.edu, and subscribe to SVA's newsletter and calendar.

September 9, 2019

location

School of Visual Arts (SVA) , New York