February 14, 2011

USC’s M.A. Art and Curatorial Practices in the Public Sphere: applications for fall 2011

USC Roski School of Art and Design
The University of Southern California (USC) Roski School of Fine Arts in Los Angeles is accepting applications on a space-available basis to the new M.A. Art and Curatorial Practices in the Public Sphere program.

is a platform for cutting-edge scholarship in contemporary art – and the development of innovative curatorial practices – that uniquely addresses questions of public space and the public sphere.For more information on the M.A. Art and Curatorial Practices in the Public Sphere program, please contact us at [email protected] or visit our website at

The Roski School of Fine Arts also announces its Critical Conversations series for spring 2011. Critical Conversations brings artists, curators, scholars, critics and other cultural producers into conversation with students to explore critical issues concerning public space and the public sphere. The events are free and open to the public: Tuesdays from 12 noon to 1:30pm, USC Graduate Fine Arts Building, 3001 South Flower Street, Los Angeles, CA 90007.


January 11, 2011
Edgar Arceneaux

January 18, 2011
Marko Peljhan

January 25, 2011
Sam Durant

February 1, 2011
Kyong Park

February 15, 2011
Anton Vidokle

February 22, 2011
Alfredo Jaar

March 1, 2011
Allan Sekula

March 22, 2011
Rirkrit Tiravanija

March 29, 2011
Sabine Breitwieser

April 5, 2011
Beatrice von Bismarck

April 12, 2011
Jens Hoffmann

April 26, 2011
Thelma Golden

USC’s Roski School of Fine Arts graduate faculty include Rhea Anastas, Anne Bray, Joshua Decter (Director of the current MPAS program), Lauri Firstenberg, Michael Ned Holte, Kimberli Meyer, Karen Moss, Bennett Simpson, Carol Stakenas, Gloria Sutton, and Henry Urbach.

Recent guest speakers (2007-2010) have included:
Vito Acconci, Doug Aitken, Ute Meta Bauer, Mark Bradford, Gregg Bordowitz, Julia Bryan-Wilson, Dan Cameron, Teddy Cruz, Steve Dietz, Mark Dion, Sam Durant, Harrell Fletcher, Andrea Fraser, Rudolf Frieling, Renée Green, Boris Groys, Hou Hanru, Paul Ramirez Jonas, Grant Kester, Norman Klein, Michael Krichman, Miwon Kwon, Maria Lind, Rick Lowe, Daniel Joseph Martinez, Allan McCollum, Antonio Muntadas, Anne Pasternak, Patricia Phillips, Marjetica Potrc, Felicity Scott, Gregory Sholette, Rochelle Steiner, Nato Thompson, John Welchman, Krzysztof Wodiczko, Peter Zellner, Tirdad Zolghadr.

Thank you!

An email with a confirmation link has been sent to the email address you entered. To complete your subscription, click this link.