November 25, 2013

Call for applications: MFA in Photography

Hartford Art School

Left: Class of 2013 Books, 2013. Photograph. Courtesy of the class of 2013. Right: Class of 2013 with HAS MFA Photo Staff. Courtesy of Chad Champoux Photography

Our approach offers a “blended learning model”—research, independent study, and online critiques—with on-site classroom learning. During the summer sessions students will be in class and have ample opportunity to interact with faculty and make use of the advanced analogue and digital facilities at the Hartford Art School. The faculty is gathered from the United States and international locations and will be augmented by visiting artists, curators, writers and other leading professionals in the field.

The program couples intensive on-campus sessions during the summer with a travel component in the spring and fall. The three summer sessions meet at the University of Hartford for two weeks, during which students and faculty interact inside and outside the classroom. The fall and spring sessions meet at off-site locations (New York City, San Francisco, Berlin, and other sites) for seven to ten days. In the time between classroom sessions, students complete course assignments and maintain regular contact with their thesis advisor. The total time to the MFA is twenty-five months, of which only ten to twelve weeks are spent away from your studio.

The limited residency MFA in Photography at the Hartford Art School is an innovative program designed for both mature individuals with established experience in the field as well as recent graduates who wish to further their own practice and acquire an MFA degree in order to facilitate their professional credentials as artists and educators. It differentiates itself from existing programs in that the new program is an international low-residency program and is the only low-residency MFA in the United States focusing solely on photography.

Faculty and guest lecturers include:
Dr. Jörg Colberg, Alec Soth, Thomas Weski, Michael Schäfer, Mary Frey, Doug Dubois, Alice Rose George, Adam Bartos, Ron Jude, Mark Steinmetz, Susan Lipper, Wiebke Loeper, Gerry Johansson, Robert Lyons (Director).
The priority deadline for application is January 14, 2014. Applications will be considered until the class is full. After that date, applications are accepted on a rolling basis until the cohort is filled.

Please note: all applicants must already have a recognized baccalaureate degree from an accredited institution. Students who earned their degree outside of the USA, will use the World Education Services (WES) to validate their transcripts. In addition international students are required to have completed the TOEFL unless waived by the director of the program.

More information can be found at or on our Facebook page.



Thank you!

An email with a confirmation link has been sent to the email address you entered. To complete your subscription, click this link.