July 24, 2014

Controlled Burn

Hartford Art School
Jerome Ming, Controlled Burn, 2014. Photograph.
Image courtesy of Jerome Ming.

Controlled Burn, our third annual MFA in Photography thesis exhibition, features the work of MFA candidates Saleem Ahmed (USA), Christopher Bennett (USA), Pamela Connolly (USA), Tsar Fedorsky (USA), Andrew Fedynak (USA), Lucy Helton (UK), Jerome Ming (Myanmar), Alexander Nichols (USA), and Andrew Todd (USA).

A reception with the artists and faculty will take place on Friday, August8, from 7 to 9pm at the Joseloff Gallery at the University of Hartford.

The show can be found online at

The limited residency MFA in Photography at the Hartford Art School, University of Hartford is an innovative program designed for both mature individuals with established experience in the field as well as recent graduates who wish to further their own practice and acquire an MFA degree in order to facilitate their professional credentials as artists and educators. It differentiates itself from existing programs in that the new program is an international low-residency program and is the only low-residency MFA in the United States focusing solely on photography. More information can be found here.

Faculty and guest lecturers include:
Alec Soth, Mary Frey, Dr. Jörg Colberg, Thomas Weski, Michael Schäfer, Doug Dubois, Misha Kominek, Alice Rose George, Adam Bartos, Mark Steinmetz, Susan Lipper, Wiebke Loeper, Michael Vahrenwald, and Robert Lyons (Director).

The priority deadline for application is January 14, 2015. Applications will be considered until the class is full, after that date applications are accepted on a rolling basis until the cohort is filled.

Please note: all applicants must already have a recognized baccalaureate degree from an accredited institution. Students who earned their degree outside of the USA, will use the World Education Services (WES) to validate their transcripts. In addition international students are required to have completed the TOEFL unless waived by the director of the program.

Program Director: Robert Lyons, [email protected].
Program Manager: Erica Ann Flood, [email protected].

The Hartford Art School is accredited by (NASAD). The University of Hartford is accredited by (NEASC).



Hartford Art School presents Controlled Burn

Thank you!

An email with a confirmation link has been sent to the email address you entered. To complete your subscription, click this link.