October 11, 2016

Open house / open studio 2016

University of Pennsylvania
Yue Nakayama, Untitled 2015 – 2016, 2016. MFA thesis show, MAMA Gallery. Video, audio, installation.

RSVP for open house

Please join the University of Pennsylvania MFA Program at an open house for prospective graduate students on Monday, November 14. Prospective applicants will have the opportunity to meet with faculty and students, as well as tour the program facilities and studios. The tour also visits the Institute of Contemporary Art, located on Penn’s campus, for a meeting with members of the curatorial staff, with whom the MFA department co-sponsors a number of collaborative programs.

The Interdisciplinary Masters of Fine Arts program at the University of Pennsylvania is focused on the professional development of visual artists. Through workshops, seminar courses, international residency opportunities, and interactions with curators, writers and artists, the program provides an open framework to foster independent methods of artistic research. In addition to seminars within the Fine Arts department, graduate students are encouraged to pursue the impressive selection of courses offered across the university.

PennDesign offers a range of tuition fellowships to recognize the merit and diversity of applicants to the program. Teaching Assistantships are offered to all incoming students. In addition, several students engage in Research Assistantships, working directly with the faculty on exhibition projects, or participate in a program through which they develop a syllabus and teach a foundation-level studio course at Penn.

MFA Program Faculty
Nancy Davenport, Matt Freedman, David Hartt, Sharon Hayes, Michelle Lopez, Ken Lum, Virgil Marti, Joshua Mosley, Wael Shawky, Orkan Telhan, Jackie Tileston

MFA Program Senior Critics 2016–17
Michael Brenson, Kate Kraczon, Paul Farber, Maori Karmael Holmes

Visiting artists
Fia Backström, Jules de Balincourt, Huma Bhabha, Paul Chan, Spencer Finch, Theaster Gates, Rafael Lozano-Hemmer, Seffani Jemison, Jon Kessler, Wendy White, Allora and Calzadilla, Dawoud Bey, Achim Borchart-Hume, Tania Bruguera, Dunne & Raby, Barnaby Furnas, Rainer Ganahl, Kendell Geers, Paul Graham, Alfredo Jaar, Ben Katchor, Molly Zuckerman-Hartung, Judith Barry, Yael Bartana, Walead Beshty, James Casebere, Tim Davis, Julia Fish, Olaf Nicolai, Walid Raad, Amie Siegel, Heather Rowe, Meredyth Sparks, Lorna Simpson, Veit Stratmann, Mark Tribe, Ian Cheng, Harrell Fletcher, Rashaad Newsome, John Pilson, Torbjørn Rødland, Ralph Lemon, Dara Friedman, Richard Rezac


To schedule a visit or for program inquires, contact: [email protected] or T +215 898 8374

Thank you!

An email with a confirmation link has been sent to the email address you entered. To complete your subscription, click this link.