search
Fall 2012 Art in the First Person Lecture Series
School of Visual Arts (SVA)


September 11–December 13, 2012

www.sva.edu/events/aifp


September 11–December 13, 2012

www.sva.edu/events/aifp

School of Visual Arts (SVA) announces the Fall 2012 Art in the First Person lecture series, 22 talks that bring together notable artists, critics, curators and historians for in-depth discussions on issues in contemporary art. Offering a 360˚ perspective on art today, speakers this season include:

– Artists Paul Chan, Richard Dupont, Christian Patterson, Randall Schmit and the Videofreex collective
– Critics Marcus Boon, Luc Sante and Elaine Scarry
– Curators Debra Bricker Ballen, Jay Sanders and Ron Simon
– Historians Nadia Aksamija, Martin Jay and Richard Shiff

Admission to all Art in the First Person events is free and open to the public unless otherwise noted. Below is a brief listing of the scheduled events. Please visit www.sva.edu/events/aifp.

Tuesday, September 11, 7pm
Robin Broadbent
136 West 21 Street, Room 418F

Wednesday, September 12, 6pm
Richard Foreman in Discussion with Jay Sanders, Robert Hullot-Kentor and Paul Chan
133/141 West 21 Street, 6th floor

Tuesday, September 25, 7pm
Stephen Mallon
136 West 21 Street, Room 418F

Wednesday, September 26, 7pm
Photography, Narrative and the Book
SVA Theatre, 333 West 23 Street

Thursday, September 27, 7pm
Marcus Boon: Abject Future: Tyler, the Creator, Azealia Banks and the Politics of Vibration
SVA Theatre, 333 West 23 Street

Thursday, October 4, 7pm
Richard Dupont: Recent Work
209 East 23 Street, 3rd-floor Amphitheater

Tuesday, October 9, 7pm
Darren Ching
136 West 21 Street, Room 418F

Thursday, October 11, 7pm
Elaine Scarry: Beauty and the Pact of Aliveness
SVA Theatre, 333 West 23 Street

Friday, October 19–Sunday, October 21
Molecular Cuisine: The Politics of Taste (conference)
335 West 16 Street

Tuesday, October 23, 7pm
Rachelle Mozman
136 West 21 Street, Room 418F

Friday, October 26, 4pm
Martin Jay: Chromophilia: Kandinsky, Benjamin and the Emancipation of Color
133/141 West 21 Street, 6th floor

Thursday, November 1, 4–9pm
We’re All Videofreex (symposium)
SVA Theatre, 333 West 23 Street

Thursday, November 1, 7pm
Richard Shiff: Modes of Distraction
SVA Theatre, 333 West 23 Street

Tuesday, November 13, 7pm
Nadja Aksamija: The Art of the Facsimile
SVA Theatre, 333 West 23 Street

Tuesday, November 13, 7pm
Lance Keimig
136 West 21 Street, Room 418F

Tuesday, November 13, 7pm
Randall Schmit: From Abstraction and Back
209 East 23 Street, 3rd-floor Amphitheater

Thursday, November 15, 7pm
Luc Sante: The Genius of the System
SVA Theatre, 333 West 23 Street

Tuesday, November 27, 7pm
Miriam Romais
136 West 21 Street, Room 418F

Thursday, November 29, 6:30pm
Arthur I. Miller: Jungian Archetypes and Creativity: The Strange Friendship of Wolfgang Pauli and Carl Jung
133/141 West 21 Street, Room 101C

Tuesday, December 11, 7pm
The Talkers: A Panel Moderated by Rochelle Feinstein
SVA Theatre, 333 West 23 Street

Tuesday, December 11, 7pm
Bob Sacha
136 West 21 Street, Room 418F

Thursday, December 13, 7pm
Debra Bricker Balken: Harold Rosenberg and the Twilight of the Intellectuals
SVA Theatre, 333 West 23 Street

School of Visual Arts (SVA) in New York City is an established leader and innovator in the education of artists. From its inception in 1947, the faculty has been comprised of professionals working in the arts and art-related fields. SVA provides an environment that nurtures creativity, inventiveness and experimentation, enabling students to develop a strong sense of identity and a clear direction of purpose.

 

 

Ad

September 10, 2012